our principal sponsors

Selkirk 37 Aberdeen Rugby 15

Published - 9 September 2017

Two league games and two defeats for Aberdeen Grammar, who are ninth in 12-team National 1 after a poor show at Selkirk.

The promise shown in the previous week’s defeat by title favourites Gala at Rubislaw was not fulfilled. Grammar lacked enterprise and conviction against canny opponents who were comfortable winners.

Grammar head coach Ali O’Connor was at a loss to explain his players’ lack of appetite for the game.

He said: “There were some good moments, including an impressive performance from winger Nat Coe. His two tries gave us the perfect start but then we didn’t get the ball out to him often enough. We then started falling off tackles, something that did not happen against Gala when we defended magnificently.

“It’s all very disappointing, especially as we started throwing the ball around near the end of the game, which we should have done from the start.”

The Borderers were shaken by the pace and guile of Coe, who gave the Aberdeen side a great start.

But Grammar lost the pace of the game, shipping a try and a needless penalty to trail 8-5, although they rallied through Coe to lead 10-8.

The Philiphaugh side rose to the occasion, scoring two tries, one of which was converted, and a penalty to take a 23-10 lead into the interval.

Grammar looked to be back in the game just after the interval when Calum Ruxton scored the best try of the day but, for the third time in the afternoon, the conversion was wide of the mark.

More Grammar pressure almost led to the gap being closed further only for Selkirk’s Ewan MacDougall to intercept a wayward pass and run 80 yards for a try which was converted by centre Aaron McComb.

The influential McColm also converted a late try to make the game well and truly safe for tidy, organised home side.

“Our efforts really should have yielded at least a try bonus point, something we need to work on,” said a disappointed O’Connor.

© Jack Nixon

Selkirk: Steven Hamilton; Fraser Anderson, Aaron McComb, Ross Nixon, Josh Walsh; Callum McColm, Callum McEwan; Luke Pettie, James Bett, Nick Hall; Callum Leckey, Peter Forrest; Andrew Renwick, Sean Nixon, Ewan MacGougall.

Replacements: Donald Nichol, Max Gordon, Robbie Reilly, Clinton Wagman, S Clark.

Aberdeen Rugby: Bryn Perrott; Nigel Coe, Nathan Clough, Tom Aplin, Calum Ruxton; Sam Knudson, Jake Gray; Rob Ellinson, Andrew Cook, Ross Anderson; Drew Whitehead, Lewis Govenlock; Alec Dravitski, Chris Jollands, Greig Ryan.

Replacements: Matthias Schosser, Calum Reddish, Robin Cessford, Cameron Simpson, Murray Mitchell.

Related Articles

All Articles