our principal sponsors

Hall of Fame

One measure of progress at the Club is the continuing elevation of players to the upper ranks of Scottish Rugby. Murray McCallum, Moray Low, Johnny Beattie, Ruaridh Jackson, Stuart Corsar, Sean Crombie, Andrew Wilson, David Millard, Rory McKay, Ben Prescott and Matthew Taylor are all players who have gone on from our Club to play in the Scottish professional game and in some cases for Championship clubs in England.

In addition, Robbie Russell went on to play in England for Premiership clubs Saracens and London Irish, gaining 27 Scotland caps along the way.

Others have chosen to ply their trade in France. Andy Cramond has played for Toulon in the Top 14 and is most recently at Biarritz. Morgan Ward also played in the Pro D2.

Murray Douglas has played Super League rugby for the Melbourne Rebels, Hurricanes and now the Brumbies. Our latest export is Hamilton Burr, most recently playing for the Chiefs in Super Rugby.

The Club has produced a number of Scottish Internationalists throughout its 128-year existence. Dr Donny Innes and Dally Allardice were its most capped players until Robbie Russell in more recent times bagged 27 before retiring from the game.

Nat Coe and Robin Cessford were selected to play for Scotland Club XV against Ireland Club XV at Netherdale in January 2020.

Our Club has been further honoured in having provided five Presidents of the Scottish Rugby Union, the most recent being the late Charlie Ritchie in 1997/98. D.W.C. (Doug) Smith is particularly remembered for also being manager of the victorious 1971 Lions Tour to New Zealand and Australia.
Club Archives
Dally Allardice (1919-2003) won 8 caps for Scotland between 1947-1949
Left to right:  Robin Cessford, Ali O' Connor & Nat Coe at the Club XV International at Netherdale in January 2020

Recent PLaying history

In season 1996-1997, the Club was playing in the old National League Division 2, often in the shadow of their long-time local rivals, Gordonians.

An ambitious 5-year plan saw the Club rise to Premier 1 in season 2000-2001, thereafter finishing in the top half of this league for 5 seasons before being relegated in 2007.

Premier 1 status was regained in 2010-2011 and consolidated during season 2011-2012 when the Club became members of the new streamlined 10 team Premiership.

In 2012-2013 the club finished 5th in the Premiership, missing out on British & Irish Cup involvement by a single point. The Club did, however, win the Caledonia Cup that season.

In season 2018-2019, the Club won the Scottish National League Cup by defeating Highland RFC 26-10 at Bridgehaugh, Stirling. Read a match report and view highlights by clicking here.

The Club currently has around 70 registered players across its 2 senior sides. For Season 2023/2024, the 1st XV is competing in Tennent’s National League Division 2 while the 2nd XV are playing in Tennent’s Caledonia North Regional League Division 3.

There are also currently around 275 players across the Club’s successful Juniors (U13-U18) and Mini sections (P1–P7) which are open to both boys and girls.
Captains & Presidents