our principal sponsors

Glasgow Hawks 20 Aberdeen Grammar 18

Published - 24 March 2014

Aberdeen Grammar ended their Premiership campaign with a 15th defeat out of 18 starts and must now turn their attention to the Scottish Cup semi-final match against Heriot’s at Rubislaw on Saturday in an attempt to make something of a dreadful season which has ended in relegation.

Coach Kevin Wyness said: “We have enjoyed no luck this season and once again we lost out to a late score. This time it was a drop goal, although had we taken our chances it would never have come down to last-gasp scores. Injuries early on to [front row] forwards Sam Bingham and Matt Dixon did not help, but we are in pretty good shape for our big cup game.”

Grammar looked set to record only their second away league win after easing into a 10-6 half-time lead before going on to lead 18-17 going into the closing minute of the game, only to be thwarted by Gavin Lowe’s well-struck drop goal.

In an untidy first half Aberdeen Grammar’s Ally Mackie was outstanding, grabbing a try, converted by Rob Aloe, from the back of a lineout charge to add to stand off Aloe’s early penalty in response to two penalties from Glasgow Hawks, both kicked by centre Jack Steele.

Steele added a third just after the break for an offence which earned prop Struan Cessford a yellow card before Aloe kicked one of his own.

The penalty glut continued when Steele punished yet another Grammar infringement to make it 13-12 for the visitors going into the last quarter.

In a rousing finish winger Tom Steven scored an unconverted try for the home side, only for Matt McCall to pop up with a unconverted try for Grammar to apparently win the game, only for Lowe to snatch the game from their grasp.

It was that kind of day, not to mention season.

© Jack Nixon

Glasgow Hawks: Gavin Lowe; Tom Steven, Ally MacLay, Jack Steele, Haddon McPherson; Dan Smart, Sean Yacoubain; Steven Findlay, Jack McFarlane, Brendan Cullinane; Angus Hamilton, Andy Linton (c); Stephen Leckey, Tyrone Holmes, Andy Kirkland.

Replacements: Callum Kerr, John Lohoar, Mateusz Bartoszek, Patrick Boyer, Mike Martin.

Aberdeen Grammar: Steve Aitken; Erlend Oag, Harry Duthie, Will Wardlaw, Byron McGuigan; Rob Aloe, Morgan Ward; Matt Dixon, Sam Bingham, Struan Cessford; Matt McCall, Andy Cramond; Ally Mackie, Greig Ryan (c), Tom Preece.

Replacements: Sean O’Connor, Matt Schosser, Jamie Metcalfe, Sam Knudson, Jamie Lauder.


Related Articles

All Articles