our principal sponsors

Aberdeen Grammar 60 Kelso 20

Published - 5 October 2015

Aberdeen Grammar recorded their biggest win of the season in disposing of a poor Kelso side 60-20 but were less than impressive according to coach Stuart Corsar.

Peceli Nacamavuto was again a standout, scoring two tries and making another for winger Jamie Gilmour, maintaining his record of scoring in all five matches in which he has played this campaign, making him the most valuable player at Rubislaw.

But Corsar said: “We scored some good tries but it was our poorest performance this season. We did what we had to do but Kelso should never have scored two tries.

“Take centre Peceli Nacamavuto out of the equation and we were bereft of ideas.”

Grammar led 24-6 at half-time, taking the lead through Alex Hagart. The stand off kicked a penalty and Grammar went on to add tries scored by flanker Robin Cessford, Gilmour and the inevitable Nacamavuto, all three converted by Hagart.

The same pattern continued into the second half, with Hagart leading the way with another penalty and Gilmour running in his second try to give the home side a try bonus point.

Grammar allowed the Borders side into the game, enabling them to score touchdowns through full back Andrew Skeen and lock Ian Wallace.

Skeen kicked the extras to add to his two first-half penalties, giving him a personal tally of 15.

Grammar then came to their collective senses, scoring through winger Alex Ratcliffe (2), full back Ali Addy and Nacamavuto, all converted by Hagart, who exceeded Skeen’s total with 20 points.

Nacamavuto apart, the biggest plus for Grammar was the return of scrum half and captain Morgan Ward, whose incisive play gave the home side an edge.

The win takes Grammar up to fifth place in National League 1. They now have a week off before they head to Howe of Fife on October 17, although missing the services of Nacamavuto, who is on duty for the Army in the Forces World Cup.

© Jack Nixon

Aberdeen Grammar: Ali Addy; Jamie Gilmour, Sam Knudson, Peceli Nacamavuto, Alex Ratcliffe; Alex Hagart, Morgan Ward; Peter Gillies, Stuart Davis, Matthias Schosser; Stuart Smith, Hamilton Burr; Robin Cessford, Tony McGinness, Ali Mackie.

Replacements: Colin Neilson, James Spalding, Adrian Hamilton, Conor Lavery, Billy Bisset.

Kelso: Andrew Skeen; Aaran Jackson, Gary Johnstone, Louis Wichary, Kev Wilson; Phil Hume, Andy Tait; Stuart Lowrie, Ross Henderson, Henri Boshoff; Stef Carnegie, Ian Wallace; Chris Riddell, Gavin Blair, Keiran Dunbar.

Replacements: Paul Grahamslaw, Michael Barbour, Andrew Wallace, Mikey Horsburgh, Lewis Mallin.




Related Articles

All Articles