our principal sponsors

Edinburgh Accies 49 Aberdeen Rugby 5

Published - 25 September 2017

Aberdeen Grammar’s chances of featuring in the promotion mix look very remote after a thrashing by league leaders Edinburgh Accies who looked every bit the part of champions in an eight-try romp.

Grammar were never in contention, although at 17-5 down at the break might have harboured hopes of a rally, only for the men from Raeburn Place to raise their game, running in five unanswered tries in the second half.

Head coach Ali O’Connor was at a loss to explain his side’s dramatic loss of form, having played so well the previous at home to Kelso.

“This was a disappointing day for us, considering we had scored seven tries last week, but this was a very good Accies side who ruthlessly exposed our defensive frailties,” said O’Connor.

The home side was strong and particularly good out wide where winger Matthew Coupar had a field day, running in three tries, while flanker Jamie Sole was also in great form, scoring two of his own in the rout.

The other try-scorers for the Edinburgh side were full back Luther Hirini, prop James Pearce and stand off Will Stephen who also kicked three conversions and a penalty.

The lone Grammar try came from a first-half effort scored by winger Grant Walker.

It was a poor performance from the visitors who seemed less than confident in their own ability, which is something the coaching team must address in training this week before GHA come calling at Rubislaw on Saturday.

The Glasgow side sits handily in third place, its only defeat coming in a one-point loss at Jed-Forest, while Grammar are in an uneasy seventh, above Falkirk, Stewart’s Melville and Musselburgh all of who have yet to win a game.

© Jack Nixon

Edinburgh Accies: Luther Hirini; Matthew Coupar, Neil Armstrong, Conor Hirini, Robbie Chalmers; Will Stephen, Max Love; James Pearse, Callum Blaack, Clement Lacour; Angus Inwood, Ronan Seydak; Joel Mann, Jamie Sole (c), Robin Snape.

Replacements: Connor Weetman, Finlay Richardson, Jordan Thomson, Sam Johnson, Callum Rahm.

Aberdeen Rugby: Bryn Perrott; Grant Walker, Alex Ratcliffe (c), Murray Mitchell, Matt Arnold; Sam Knudson, Jake Gray; Calum Reddish, Andrew Cook, Matthias Schosser; Drew Whitehead, Robin Cessford; Alec Dravitski, Chris Jollands, Greig Ryan.

Replacements: Colin Neilson, Aaron Robertson, Will Alton, Bailey Walsh, Calum Ruxton.


Related Articles

All Articles