our principal sponsors

Aberdeen Rugby 38 Howe of Fife 26

Published - 12 September 2016

Aberdeen Grammar extended their unbeaten run to seven games, although head coach Ali O'Connor was less than happy about the loss of a 24 point lead.

The first half was dominated by Grammar, who had a try bonus point in the bag by the break.

O'Connor said: "I was disappointed at the outcome as we allowed Howe of Fife to score four tries, negating all our good work in the first half. We allowed them back into the game as we fell off tackles. We rallied to score two more tries but still lost the second half 26-12. Clearly, there is work to be done."

Grammar had eased themselves into the game with some fine, penetrating play which led to tries by winger Grant Walker and centre Peceli Nacamavuto, who was playing in his last game before taking up a post in the Army in London.

The big man helped Grammar score a further two tries from winger Calum Ruxton and flanker Chris Jollands. Centre Ali Addy kicked two conversions to give the Rubislaw side a 24-point lead at the interval.

The Fifers rallied in the second half with tries from stand off Cameron Ellison and flanker Andrew Steven, one of which was converted by Ellison.

Grammar captain then led by example with a rampaging run  which led to him plunging over the line to give hias side a 29-12 lead.

That quickly became 31-13 when Addy added the conversion.

But the Fifers were not finished and hit back with two more touchdowns, firstly from lock Terry Turpie and then from replacement Chris Mann.

Both were converted by Ellison, giving the Fifers a try bonus point which earlier had not looked on the cards.

Sandwiched between the Howe tries was a loan Grammar effort from hooker Alex McLeod, converted by Addy.

Captain Champion said: "It was good to keep our run going but we'll need to address our defending."

Aberdeen Rugby: Conor Lavery; Grant Walker, Alex Ratcliffe, Peceli Nacamavuto, Calum Ruxton; Ali Addy, Sam Knudson; Colin Neilson, Alex McLeod, Matthias Schosser; Aaron Robertson, Harry Bloomfield; Robin Cessford, Chris Jollands, Calum Champion (c).

Replacements: Chris Prentice, Frank Selbie, William Inglis, Jordan Robertson, Andrew Ovenstone.

Howe of Fife: Angus Guthrie; Ben Mitchell, Frase Ellison, Fraser Clark, Shaun Gray; Cameron Ellison, Stewart Lathangie; Graeme Steedman, Connor Crawford, Grant Henderson; Nye Rees, Terry Turpie; Brodie Runciman, Andrew Steven, Brad O'Halon.

Replacements: Murdo Sinclair, Steven Player, Jem McDonald, Calum Willison, Chris Mann.



Related Articles

All Articles